Training in Okayama

おはよう, reader! I'm currently sitting aboard an express train on its way to Izumo. Looking out the window, I see big hills covered in trees, all changing into fall colors. It reminds me of Oregon, so I know I'll like it here. I have also seen, like, a dozen cranes! And it's only been an hour!

I just finished training for my job yesterday. It was pretty intensive week and a half but I got to meet some of the other teachers in the area. It'll be nice to be able to talk to them and share our experiences. And of course, the more friends I have around Japan, the more places I can visit! I will begin teaching for real tomorrow. If it sounds really sudden, I definitely agree. But I guess I have to start some time. Haha! I'm a little nervous of course, but I am confident that it will go well! I just have to remember all the words to “I've Been Working on the Railroad”. (All the live long day?)

In order to tide everyone over while I get settled into my new apartment and new job, I thought I could post some pictures from my training in Okayama. Okayama is an hour and a half train ride from Osaka and is known for its black and gold castle!

Okayama Castle

Fine calligraphy
The view from my dorm
Neighborhood in Okayama
Okayama Castle at Night!
The Ikeda clan symbol

Remember, you can follow my Instagram to see photos I share!

What I liked most about Okayama, or at least what stood out to me the most, was the fact that it had so many different little areas. Turn one corner and you would find the luxury shopping area, another to find all the bars, another to find a quiet residential area, another to find all the tiny specialized shops. Every thing had its own little place and each place had a different feel. I could definitely take some time exploring all the little parts of Okayama. But! That will have to wait for another time. Starting today, Izumo is my new home! If you'd like my address to send me nice letters, send me a note! I'll send you a letter back on some cute stationary!

 

 

Training in Okayama

6 thoughts on “Training in Okayama

What do you think?